Before I Die

Before I die, I’d like to make it to mars, but I’d settle for a desert where I can look at the stars.

I would gaze into the sky, count their twinkles one by one, going on living until I was done.

God is the universe, there isn’t no other, it’s your mother and father and sister and brother.

It’s the biggest of planets and smallest of grains; it’s the heat and the cold and the winds and the rains.

It’s the animals and the fish and snow on the mountains; it’s the grass in the park and sunlight in fountains.

It’s the tail of a comet and the rings in the tree; it’s those been and gone and it’s you and it’s me.

About tonyjayg

I'm a great bloke. That's all you need to know. ;)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Before I Die

  1. gil gould says:

    quality piece tony..again

  2. tonyjayg says:

    Thanks mate. I does me best. 😉

  3. Me says:

    Really enjoyed this one. I am sure that I will come back to it a few times.
    Denny

  4. Denny says:

    Yep, here I am again. I love reading this piece, think I might frame it and hang it on the wall. Yep.

Leave a Reply

