Dark Place

Sometimes I go to a dark place
I go there all alone
I hear no friendly voices
Not even on the phone

The dark place isn’t cosy
Bed of nails cold
Makes me feel lonely
Crushed and sad and old

No walls or locks to hold me
The darkness has to keep
A dungeon in my head space
Awake or fast asleep

Dark place full of torture
Thoughts both old and new
Dreams a jagged landscape
Chilled as morning dew

Killers serve their time out
Robbers they walk free
Life sentence no remission
The dark place gave to me

The dark place is my prison
A jail built just for me
Dark place a heavy curtain
Through which I cannot see

Though searching for the sunshine
Those rays of hope and joy
The dark place drops the shutters
That’s not for you my boy

Sometimes I go to a dark place
I go there all alone
I hear no friendly voices
Not even on the phone

About tonyjayg

I'm a great bloke. That's all you need to know. ;)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dark Place

  1. Heather says:

    I think this is one of your best poems. Wonderful description of loneliness and depression.

  2. Chas C says:

    What can I say Tony – other than ‘Dark!’

Leave a comment